Wow! This was quite the challenge but totally worth every single stitch!

IMG_0402
Blue Doggy LOVED wearing it because its got his favorite color in it!

IMG_0400
Of course I couldn’t leave Cookie out of the photo shoot!

IMG_0391
This pic shows everything off the best though. I love how the “spine” is kind of wavy!

FullSizeRender_3IMG_0394
Some more pics of Cookie wearing B’s new shawl/triangle-scarf-thingy.

One thing this shawl taught me was blocking is unbelievably necessary when it comes to knitting shawls. It really opens up the design as well as blooms the yarn in such a way you would never see without blocking it.

I was originally going to add a button for B to fasten this around her neck, but the more I look at it, the more I realize that she’s faaar too mature and old for such a baby-like feature at her ripe old age of 10.

In general, I wouldn’t recommend this pattern to a beginner, but would absolutely say an intermediate knitter could handle this without getting discouraged.

I will post a link to the pattern on Ravelry once the designer has released it for all that would like to make one!

I can’t wait to see how this looks on my not-so-little diva! And we all know I won’t be able to make it until Christmas to give it to her!!!!

Have you ever tested a pattern for a designer with the intention of giving the finished object away as a gift?